International Relations


Public Chair: Representative Tim Moffitt, North Carolina


Karla Jones, Director
571.482.5017 –

Task Force Documents

State legislators and their constituents are stakeholders in many of the most important national and international issues of the day. The members of the International Relations Task Force (IRTF) believe in the power of free markets and limited government to propel economic growth in the United States and around the globe and that these guiding principles are just as relevant overseas as they are in the States. The IRTF brings together state legislators, policy experts and industry representatives to develop model policy to increase exports, safeguard intellectual property rights, promote the nation’s security and restore the Constitutionally-designated balance of power between the states and the federal government.

The IRTF has model policy supporting the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP), and the IRTF is the only ALEC Task Force with model policy highlighting the importance of protecting intellectual property rights. Model policy supporting final approval of the Keystone XL Pipeline, opposing Sequestration and carving out a role for the states in cybersecurity are among those in our policy portfolio.

Our models are discussed at meetings at the highest levels of the US government, and foreign governments and international bodies are familiar with ALEC model policy from past resolutions related to their regions.

In a unique partnership between those interested in international issues and those whose primary focus is federalism, the IRTF has a robust Federalism Working Group that supports policy to protect state sovereignty on a wide range of issues. The Working Group is the home of much of ALEC’s federalism model policy with initiatives including a return to the letter and spirit of the U.S. Constitution’s Tenth Amendment, giving Western states control over public lands that are held in a federal government trust and countering unfunded mandates.

In order to capitalize on the specialized knowledge of our state legislator members we have formed three subcommittees: Federalism; Intellectual Property and National Security. Subcommittee Chairs are specialists in their respective disciplines having worked on these issues within their legislatures and/or in their careers outside the legislature.

For more information, contact Karla Jones, Director of International and Federal Relations at or 571-482-5017.

Related News