State Tax Cut Roundup

Tax Cut RoundupDownload PDF

2013 Tax Cut Roundup

: The tax cut package from Oklahoma that is included in the 2013 Tax Cut Roundup was struck down by the Oklahoma State Supreme Court on Dec. 17, 2013, a month after the release of Tax Cut Roundup. This means only 17 states will see tax cuts as a result of the 2013 legislative session.

For more details, please visit our blog: American Legislator.

Eighteen states cut taxes in the 2013 legislative year, with some states enacting fundamental tax reform and others only slightly modifying their tax code, according to a new report by the American Legislative Exchange Council Center for State Fiscal Reform. The tax policy changes enacted by states reflect an emphasis on pro-growth reforms that encourage economic expansion and competition. Of the 18 states that cut taxes during the 2013 legislative year, there were 25 cuts in specific tax categories. Nearly one quarter of the 25 tax cuts were to the personal income tax, followed by reductions to various state specific taxes and to the corporate income tax. Sales tax reductions were the least enacted form of tax cuts in 2013. The states that cut taxes during the 2013 legislative year are:

Alaska, Arkansas , Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, Montana,

Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Wisconsin



To download a full copy of the report, please click here.


Task Forces

Related News